2019 Outstanding Volunteer Award Recipients

2019 Outstanding Volunteer Award Recipients

Loudoun Cares was thrilled to bring the Outstanding Volunteer Awards to Loudoun County again this year. The event took place on Friday, April 19, 2019, at West Belmont Place at the National in Leesburg. It started out with a social hour where winners, nominators, special guests, and VIP’s gathered to exchange congratulations and network. Master of Ceremonies, Tony Howard (CEO of the Loudoun County Chamber of Commerce) was joined by Chairwoman Phyllis Randall (D-At large) our Keynote Speaker making the evening a true celebration of volunteerism in the Loudoun County.

Nearly 80 applications were collected and 63 volunteers were recognized over 14 categories that included adult, senior, youth, and specialty categories. This year we also had for the first time, district recognition awards. Each of our Loudoun County Board of Supervisors recognized a volunteer of their choosing from their district and Chair Randall recognized a county-wide volunteer. In addition, we created an annual Service of a Lifetime award to recognize volunteers that have given 10 or more years of service to Loudoun County.

Loudoun Cares would like to congratulate all the winners!

Nomination for the 2020 Outstanding Volunteer Awards will open in January.

Thank you to everyone that made this event possible.

2019 Outstanding Volunteer Awards Recipients:

-Outstanding Adult Volunteer – Sherry Fortier, PASTA

-Outstanding Adult Volunteer Team – The Collaborative Care Team, Loudoun Free Clinic

-Outstanding Adult Public Safety Volunteer – Christopher Rogienski, Loudoun County Sheriff’s Auxiliary

-Outstanding Senior Volunteer – Joe Coleman, Loudoun Wildlife Conservancy

-Outstanding Senior Volunteer Team – Dulles South Senior Center Kitchen Volunteers, AAA/Dulles South Senior Center

-Outstanding Volunteer Team – The Edwin Washington Project Team, Diversity and Equality Affairs of Virginia

-Outstanding Volunteer Corporate Team – VISA

-Outstanding Volunteer Project Leader- Mike Wilkins, Loudoun County Area Agency on Aging

-Outstanding Volunteer Project – Riverside NHS Group Service Point Coordinators, Riverside National Honor Society

-Outstanding Youth Volunteer Team – Peers and Students Taking Action (PASTA)

-Outstanding Youth Public Safety – Gardner Austin, Leesburg Volunteer Fire Company

-Outstanding Youth Public Safety – Sarah Fletcher, Leesburg Volunteer Fire Company

-Gabriella Miller Youth Volunteer – Esha Venkat, NEST4US

-Service of a Lifetime – Sherry Fortier

2019 Outstanding Volunteer District Recognition Recipients:

-Chairperson – Judy Hines

-Ashburn District – Carol Kost

-Algonkian District – Sisters4Sisters (S4S)

-Blue Ridge District – Marty Potts

-Broad Run District – Elizabeth Esper

-Catoctin District – Steve Schultz

-Dulles District – Kristen Reed

-Leesburg District – Libby Westphal

-Sterling District – Joan Kowalski

Thank You to All Our Event Sponsor!

Gold Sponsor 

National Conference Center

Silver Sponsors 

Backflow Technology

Northwest Federal Credit Union

HHMI Janelia Research Campus

Bronze Sponsors 

Makpar Corporation

INOVA Health Systems

Jack & Beth O’Donnell & Leesburg Junction


United Bank

Friends of Loudoun Cares

Carried Away Gifts 

Crown Trophy

Nominations will open in January for the 

2020 Outstanding Volunteer Awards